New York Shoplifting Crimes: FAQ
What is the penalty for shoplifting in NY?
The most common criminal charge for shoplifting in New York is Petit Larceny, PL 155.25, which is punishable by up to 1 year in jail. In certain circumstances, such as when the value of the stolen goods exceeds $1,000, a person can be charged with a felony such as Grand Larceny which is punishable by time in state prison.
Is shoplifting a felony or misdemeanor?
A typical shoplift is a misdemeanor in New York - Petit Larceny, PL 155.25. However, if the value of the stolen goods exceeds $1,000, or if a forged or stolen credit card was used to commit the theft, it can be a felony.
What is the punishment for a first-time shoplifting?
A person who is being accused with a crime for the first time in their life, and that crime is shoplifting, will typically be charged with Petit Larceny, PL 155.25. A first time shoplifting defendant may be offered a chance to avoid a criminal record altogether, and avoid the possibility of jail by paying either a fine or doing community service.
How long does a shoplifting stay on your record?
If a person is convicted of Petit Larceny, PL 155.25, in New York, which is an A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail, that criminal conviction will stay on that person's criminal record forever. However, you can potentially get the record of that conviction sealed after 10 years in certain circumstances under the New York Criminal Procedure Law, CPL 160.59.
Call the New York State criminal defense lawyers and former New York City prosecutors at (212) 312-7129 or contact us online today.